CRASH-B 2015

Mar 10, 2015

The 34th World Indoor Rowing Championship, hosted by the CRASH-B Sprints, took place on March 1, 2015, at the Agganis Arena in Boston, Massachussetts. Nearly 2300 athletes raced from 34 countries, with competitors ranging in age from 12 to 90. There were many exciting races and several record-breaking times.

Sofia Asoumanakis rowing hard toward her win

The race field contained many notable performances from all categories—seniors, adaptive, juniors—all inspiring in their own way and far too many to mention specifically. One of the more noteworthy races was an incredible effort by rower Sofia Asoumanaki of Greece who broke the junior women's heavyweight world record with a 6:30.2. She also had the fastest women’s time of the day beating two-time CRASH-B open women’s champion Kaisa Pajusalu by 13 seconds.

Here’s the full list of world records from the day:

  • Sofia Asoumanaki (GRE) 13–18 Hwt 6:30.2
  • Susan Hooten (USA) 60–64 Lwt 7:37.3
  • Luanne Mills (USA) 75–79 Hwt 8:29.6
  • Paul Guest (AUS) 75–79 Hwt 7:13.2
  • Dorothy Dorion (USA) 80-84 Lwt 9:36.6
  • Sally Callahan (USA) 85–89 Hwt 10:34.7
  • Bob Spenger (USA) 90–94 Hwt 8:42.4
  • Cameron Sinclair (CAN) (TA) 3:21.7
  • Curtis Halliday (CAN) (LTA–PD) 2:56.1
  • Kim Hyldgaard Pedersen (DEN) (LTA–AK) 3:33.5
  • Kelley Goddu (USA) (FES) 11:02.0

The entire championship was broadcast live on our website and was watched by people from 67 different countries. Amazingly, the fifth biggest audience was from the Faroe Islands as they tuned in to see their compatriot Danjal Martin Hofgaard win the Men's Open lightweight event. Full results and race replays are available, as well as videos and photographs from the event. You can also listen to an audio snapshot by Boston Public Radio.

RSS Icon Subscribe to RSS Feed ›

Latest Posts